Organisation

Having established my design for my pages, I started brainstorming what should be on the pages, and how I would split up the task into steps. I am currently thinking the following chapters:

  • Introduction
  • Structure
  • Chords
  • Instruments
  • Rhythm??
  • Score
  • Recording

In each section, students will do activities to help them analyse the element in the set pieces, and then move on to apply that knowledge to their arrangement. Each section would have at least one instructional video. I am planning to use the ‘review’ widget as an interactive way for students to engage in activities, for example students could label chords.

I will need to have some kind of transcription of the study pieces for students to make these activities. I couldn’t find a version with exactly what I wanted just by searching, so I have started the process of writing my own transcription of “Summertime”. I had to select a version, so I am using this version by Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong:

In my transcription I am trying to be as accurate as possible to the rhythm and pitch used in this version, rather than having a standard lead sheet. This has proved quite difficult, as the rhythms are very loose.

Leave a comment